Social History 101 – the blog

2010/05/28

Over-reaching

Filed under: Pilgrimages — socialhistory101 @ 10:49 am

I set out almost 10 days ago on a pilgrimage and it was only partially successful.

Helping unearth buried treasure at our aunt’s house did yield some results which I’ve only begun to clarify and catalog.  Some of it is quite exciting and once I’ve figured out precisely what it is I’ve learned I’ll get it posted on the family tree and perhaps write about it a bit here.

The other part of the journey was to be a road trip through Michigan, visting many cemeteries along the path and meeting my father-in-law’s second cousin (father-in-law’s grandfather’s niece’s son).  Unfortunately, I had the traveling equivalent of eyes bigger than my stomach, biting off more than I could chew, believing that my energy could hold up and it really could not.

So I’ve spent the last five days with one of my oldest, dearest friends, the woman who was to accompany me on the Michigan road trip.  It’s been a wonderful visit and I’m leaving here tomorrow morning.

How will I ever do all the things that are required to recreate the ancestral path that led to my husband and his siblings?  I am committed…. but will my body obey?

Blog at WordPress.com.